How not to write your first blog post

Travelling brings out my most productive side – I plan all my work in the flight and the airports for days – collect all the books, transfer all the files to the right folder in my Kindle and make a To-do list on my phone before I travel.

Sadly, most of the time, I end up sleeping on board.

This blog, too, was conceived in the airport, months ago. I was going to Australia with my family, and starting a blog seemed to be the right thing to do before I boarded my flight to down under. I spent half an hour and more on the structure and template, and when the time came to write my first blog post, the time for complementary airport WiFi had already lapsed. And, the blog, with its ‘simple, economic and floaty’ template, ‘personal yet quirky’ name, and a ‘candid, light and evanescent’ About Me page, reached the same ephemeral end as a firefly on Diwali night.

So here I am, writing my first blog post, months after the rest of the blog was created, in yet another international airport, running against the ticking clock of the complementary airport WiFi. And if ever this blog takes off in the way my mind has already envisioned it to, and even if it doesn’t, I will have a fun time recalling the story of how I wrote the first post in the middle of the night in Dubai airport, waiting for my connecting flight to Frankfurt, groggy and sleep deprived after a long flight from home.

Leave a comment